Click here for search results

Eastern Africa: IOC - Indian Ocean Commission

Countries: Maurtius, Seychelles, Comoros, Madagascar, Reunion
Click on the regional institution below for background information and maps:

Western Africa


Central Africa


Southern Africa

Nile Basin Initiative

Eastern Africa


IOC map


Indian Ocean Commission Secretariat

  • Secretary General: M. Jean Claude de l’Estrac
  • Address: 3rd floor, Blue Tower, Rue de l’Institut, Ebène, Mauritius
  • Telephone: 00230 402 61 00
  • Fax: 00230 465 79 33
  • Internet address:

General Background

The Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) is an inter-governmental organization grouping Comoros, France ( Réunion Island), Madagascar, Mauritius and Seychelles. Its objective is to promote sustainable development of the Western Indian Ocean Islands.

The IOC also represents the island states in international forums and defends their interest with regard to specific environmental and economic issues. It also facilitates regional cooperation and integration.

Current Themes/Issues

Since its creation in 1984, the IOC has been active in different sectors such as protection of environment, promotion of tourism, promotion of trade, fisheries, telecommunications, and promotion of cultural heritage.

Its main source of funding and support is provided by the European Commission (EDF). It also acts as executing and implementing agency for projects financed by other donors such as the World Bank, the African Development Bank, the French Cooperation, UNESCO, and UN-AIDS.

The IOC has been the executing agency for the GEF-World Bank Western Indian Ocean Islands Oil Spill Contingency Planning Project and for the GEF-World Bank Coral Reefs Protection Project. It is planned that the IOC will also be a sub-regional implementing agency for the proposed GEF-World Bank Western Ocean Marine Highway Development and Coastal and Marine Contamination Prevention Project.

Permanent URL for this page: