Click here for search results

Arab States of the Gulf Cooperation Council

  بالعربية l Français (pdf)

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Country Department (MNC05) is the principal liaison between the World Bank and the six Arab States of the Gulf,  namely Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.  The Department facilitates the provision of Reimbursable Advisory Services (RAS) from the Bank to the GCC countries, which began over forty years ago with advisory services to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.  Over time it expanded to cover the other GCC countries as well.

RAS activities encompass all the key areas in which the World Bank has expertise; in the current year, the largest programs will be implemented in Transport, Social Protection and Labor, Education, Urban Development, Governance, Health, and Environment.

As the name implies, all costs of RAS services are covered by client countries through reimbursement to the Bank of actual expenses incurred. In the previous year, the GCC program volume was over US$18million.

At the regional level, the GCC Department provides advisory services to the GCC Secretariat General on cross-country issues in the transport and environment domains across the GCC.

The GCC Department is managed through three offices: Regional Office in Riyadh under a Country Director, Country Office in Kuwait, and a Program Unit at World Bank Headquarters in Washington, D.C.

Updated: October 2014

Permanent URL for this page: