Click here for search results

Switzerland and the World Bank

Switzerland joined the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) in May 1992. Switzerland is also a member of the International Development Association (which it joined in 1992), the International Finance Corporation (1992), the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (1988), and the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (1968). Today, IBRD and IDA are commonly referred to as the World Bank.

The Governor for Switzerland
Each member country of the World Bank Group is represented on the Board of Governors, the senior decision-making body, which meets twice a year during the Spring and Annual Meetings. Generally, the Governors are government ministers, such as Ministers of Finance or Ministers of Development, who have specific power to admit and suspend members of the World Bank Group, to increase or decrease the authorized capital stock, to determine the distribution of the net income of the Bank, and to decide on the World Bank Group’s overall strategic direction, among others. Switzerland’s representatives on the Board of Governors are:

  • Governor: H.E. Johann N. Schneider-Ammann, Federal Councillor and Minister of Economic Affairs
  • Alternate Governor: H.E. Didier Burkhalter, Federal Councillor and Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Executive Director for Switzerland
The governors delegate responsibility for overseeing the day-to-day business to their designated representatives on the World Bank's Executive Board. The 25 Executive Directors represent the 188 member countries of the World Bank, and normally meet twice a week to decide on borrowing and financial questions, projects, and on policies that impact the World Bank Group’s general operations.

Switzerland's IBRD, IFC and MIGA Board representation is shared with Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Poland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Serbia. Its IDA Board representation is also shared with these countries, excluding Belarus. Mr. Michel Mordasini, national from Switzerland, is the Executive Director for this group. He is supported in his functions by an Alternate Executive Director, who is currently Mr. Jakub Marek Karnowski, national from Poland, as well as by a team of advisors and locally hired staff.

Switzerland's Executive Directors are:

The World Bank Switzerland Country Desk
The Department of External Affairs of the World Bank, through its Berlin-based Desk, manages day-to-day relations with Swiss constituencies, including government, parliamentarians, private sector, civil society, academics, and media.

  • In general:
  • The World Bank Group is made of 5 Institutions:
  • For Switzerland:

Last updated: 2012-10-25

Permanent URL for this page: