Click here for search results

Election or Appointment of Executive Directors

Regular elections of Executive Directors are held every two years at the time of the Annual Meetings. The rules adopted for each regular election are approved in advance of the election by a majority vote of the Boards of Governors. In the event that an Executive Director elected during the regular election terminates service before the next regular election, the constituency affected by the vacancy holds an interim election for a successor.  Such interim elections are conducted either by mail vote or during an Annual Meeting that does not fall in a regular election year.

Under the IBRD Articles of Agreement, each of the five members having the largest number of shares appoints an Executive Director, and the remaining members elect the other Executive Directors. Presently, IBRD Board consists of 25 Executive Directors.

Under the IDA Articles of Agreement and the IFC Articles of Agreement, the Executive Directors of IBRD serve, ex officio, as Executive Directors of IDA and as members of the Board of Directors of IFC. MIGA has its own separate Board of Directors, consisting of 25 members. In practice, the same individuals are chosen to serve on the IBRD Board of Executive Directors and the MIGA Board.

Last updated: 2014-09-03

Permanent URL for this page: