Click here for search results

Voting Powers

The World Bank and the IMF have adopted a weighted system of voting. According to IBRD Articles of Agreement, membership in the Bank is open to all members of the IMF. A country applying for membership in the Fund is required to supply data on its economy, which are compared with data from other member countries whose economies are similar in size. A quota is then assigned, equivalent to the country's subscription to the Fund, and this determines its voting power in the Fund.

Each new member country of the Bank is allotted 250 votes plus one additional vote for each share it holds in the Bank's capital stock. The quota assigned by the Fund is used to determine the number of shares alloted to each new member country of the Bank.

Five Executive Directors are appointed by the members with the five largest numbers of shares (currently the United States, Japan, Germany, France and the United Kingdom). China, the Russian Federation, and Saudi Arabia each elects its own Executive Director. The other Executive Directors are elected by the other members. The voting power distribution differs from agency to agency within the World Bank Group.

Voting Status by Executive Director:

3 dotted blue arrow IBRD

3 dotted blue arrow IDA

3 dotted blue arrow IFC

3 dotted blue arrow MIGA

Permanent URL for this page: