Click here for search results
The Inspection Panel encourages the use and dissemination of its work. Please acknowledge the Inspection Panel as the source of information. For any questions regarding use and distribution of Panel reports, please contact the Panel Secretariat at:

1818 H Street NW Washington DC, 20433
Tel: ++202-458-5200 Fax: ++202-522-0916
P.O. Box 27566 Washington, DC 20038

Eimi Watanabe

Meet the Panel
panel members

Inspection Panel Members

The Panel consists of three members appointed by the Board for non renewable terms of five years of service. Read More..

View Alf Jerve Profile...

View Zeinab Bashir El Bakri Profile...

Inspection Panel Member, Chair

Eimi Watanabe Eimi Watanabe was appointed to the Inspection Panel in November 2009 and assumed the responsibility of a Chair on May 1, 2013. A Japanese national, Eimi Watanabe has over 30 years of experience in development. A Sociologist by training, she has been involved in a wide range of substantive areas, both at the project and policy levels, including poverty reduction, gender, child health and nutrition, governance, capacity development, the environment, and migration. From 1998 to 2001, she served as Assistant Secretary General and Director of the UNDP’s Bureau for Development Policy.

Prior to that, Ms. Watanabe was UN Resident Coordinator and UNDP Resident Representative in Bangladesh, and UNICEF Representative in India. Recently she has served as a member of the Strategic and Audit Advisory Committee of the United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS).

Throughout her career, Ms. Watanabe has demonstrated a commitment to applying analytical as well as participatory approaches to development programs, and she has a strong record of experience in working collaboratively with civil society organizations, governments, and other development organizations.

Ms. Watanabe earned a PhD from the London School of Economics and received her BA in Sociology from the International Christian University in Tokyo.

Eimi Watanabe's term of office: November 1, 2009 - October 31, 2014.

Permanent URL for this page:

© 2011 The World Bank Group, All Rights Reserved. Legal