World Bank GroupWorld Bank Group
    Click here for search results


About the 1818 Society

small logo


The 1818 Society was formed in 1978 as the organization of World Bank Group retirees. The Society has traditionally had two main purposes: facilitating contacts among former staff and acting as a liaison with the Bank on matters of concern to retirees such a pensions and health insurance. The Society also organizes seminars on subjects such as housing alternatives in retirement, estate planning, and long-term health care.




Membership is open to former staff members (including EDs, Alternates and their staff) who are either receiving a World Bank pension or have chosen a deferred pension, and others who have provided 3 or more years or more including some pensionable services in the World Bank Group. Surviving spouses of deceased retirees automatically become members unless they request otherwise. More than 65% of those eligible have become members by paying a one-time membership fee, currently set at $30.00. At present, membership numbers almost 6,000.


Click here for an application form or to read our by-laws.



The Society holds an Annual Meeting and reception in Washington each autumn. Other activities are scheduled throughout the year in the Washington area, such as luncheons with guest speakers, visits to local places of interest, and excursions to cultural events. Members also receive a bi-monthly Bulletin and access to the Directory of Members listing the names and addresses of all members as well as e-mail addresses of members who supply them. The Bulletin is mailed and also available online. The Directory of Members is available online only.


Local Chapters

The Society encourages the formation of local chapters whenever members are interested in doing so.  At present, there are several active chapters:

Australia-New Zealand Chapter

Canada Chapter
Chile Chapter 
Dutch Chapter 
Florida Chapter 
French-speaking Chapter 
German-speaking Chapter 
Japan Chapter 
British Chapter 


The Society also encourages the formation of sector-specific groups.  Thus far, we have the following groups already functioing.


Agriculture and Rural Development Chapter

Shawki Barghouti


1818 Economists' Chapter
Vikram Nehru


Education Group
Sverrir Sigurdsson


Energy Group
Eugene McCarthy


HNP Group
William McGreevey


Transport Chapter
Asif Faiz 

Water Group
Dick MacEwen

Permanent URL for this page:

© 2011 The World Bank Group, All Rights Reserved.Legal.Home | FAQs | Contact Us