Click here for search results

GPSA Mission & Participating Countries

 All languages Go back to GPSA home 

The objective of the GPSA is to improve development results by supporting capacity building for enhanced beneficiary feedback and participation. The GPSA will contribute to country-level governance reforms and improved service delivery.

To achieve this objective, the GPSA will provide strategic and sustained support to beneficiary groups and civil society organizations (CSOs) in developing countries that are working with their governments, to promote greater transparency and accountability. Support will be provided on two fronts: funding and knowledge. Through a global grant competition, grants will be made available to CSOs for capacity building, research and knowledge dissemination, networking and programmatic activities related to social accountability in their country. The GPSA will make grants for periods of 3-5 years. The GPSA will also support a global platform for knowledge exchange and research, especially in measuring and documenting ‘what works’ in social accountability and the impact of social accountability interventions.

The GPSA Operations Manual (PDF) provides technical guidance on the implementation of the GPSA. The strategy and working principles are more broadly explained in the GPSA Board paper (PDF). The Executive Summary (PDF) of the Board Paper is also available. The GPSA Brief (PDF) gives a 2-page overview of the program.

The GPSA's funding component will only operate in countries where the government agrees to 'opt-in' to the GPSA. The government opt-in process is ongoing in countries across the world. The countries that have formally opted in to date are:

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Belarus
  4. Benin
  5. Colombia
  6. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  7. Dominican Republic
  8. Ghana
  9. Grenada
  10. Honduras
  11. Indonesia
  12. Jamaica
  13. Jordan NEW
  14. Kyrgyz Republic
  15. Malawi
  16. Mali
  17. Moldova
  18. Mongolia
  19. Morocco NEW
  20. Mozambique
  21. Namibia
  22. Niger
  23. Paraguay
  24. Philippines
  25. Rwanda
  26. Saint Lucia
  27. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  28. Senegal
  29. Tajikistan
  30. Timor Leste
  31. Togo
  32. Tunisia
  33. St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  34. Uganda NEW
Before a Call for Proposals is issued, multi-stakeholder consultations are held in each country to define thematic priority areas that CSO proposals will need to address.


Permanent URL for this page: