Click here for search results


Governments of the world established The Vienna Convention on the Protection of the Ozone Layer in 1985. Through this Convention, governments committed themselves to protect the ozone layer and to co-operate with each other in scientific research to improve understanding of atmospheric processes.

The Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer, agreed by governments in 1987 under the legal framework of the Vienna Convention, aims to reduce and eventually eliminate emissions of man-made ozone depleting substances. The Montreal Protocol has since been strengthened through four amendments and multiple adjustments agreed at Meetings of the Parties to the Montreal Protocol in London (1990), Copenhagen (1992), Vienna (1995), Montreal (1997), and Beijing (1999). Adjustments, which bind all parties, are changes in the phaseout timetable for existing controlled substances (ozone depleting substances covered by the Protocol). Amendments are other more significant changes, such as adding new controlled substances; parties are not bound by amendments unless they ratify them.

The Ozone Secretariat is the official administrative and recording entity of the Vienna Convention and its Montreal Protocol.  It publishes a comprehensive handbook, now in its eighth edition.  The complete listing of substances controlled under the Montreal Protocol is found in its annexes, grouped by chemical structure.

The Ozone Secretariat

Permanent URL for this page: