Click here for search results



Dominica is a member of the Organization of Eastern Carribean States. The OECS is a sub-regional organization of nine small island developing states Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines are full members. Anguilla and the British Virgin Islands are associate members, and along with Montserrat, British dependent territories.

The countries of the Eastern Caribbean face special development challenges because of their small size and vulnerability to natural disasters. On the one hand, with an overall population of a little over eight hundred thousand, the per capita cost of economic and social infrastructure is very high in the OECS and Barbados.

On the other hand, hurricanes and floods regularly reverse economic gains by destroying fixed investments and disrupting economic activities, particularly in agriculture and tourism. In addition, most of the islands have traditionally been mono-crop economies (bananas for Dominica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and to a lesser extent Grenada, and sugarcane for Barbados and St. Kitts and Nevis) and have relied on preferential trade arrangements for their main exports.


Permanent URL for this page:

Guyana Subtopics

Country Surveys