Click here for search results


The focus of external partnerships of the air transport projects of the World Bank is the collaboration with International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and the airline industry, especially in the field of promoting safety and security in the Bank’s client countries. Furthermore, the high-level relationship hitherto maintained with the United States Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and Department of Transportation (DOT) is now supplemented by increased relationship being built up with the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) and member countries.


International Civil Association (ICAO)
ICAO, a specialized agency of the United Nations, is responsible for establishing international standards and recommended practices and procedures for the technical, economic, and legal aspects of international civil aviation operations. ICAO’s strategic objectives include enhancing global aviation safety and security and the efficiency of aviation operations, minimizing the adverse effect of global civil aviation on the environment, maintaining the continuity of aviation operations, and strengthening laws governing international civil aviation.


International Air Transport Association (IATA)
IATA is an international industry trade group of airlines headquartered in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. IATA's mission is to represent, lead, and serve the airline industry. IATA represents some 230 airlines comprising 93% of scheduled international air traffic. In 2003, the IATA Safety Operational Audit (IOSA) was launched with the aim to serve as a standard and worldwide recognized certification of airlines' operational management. The IOSA certification is also recognized by the WBG’s internal Staff Air Travel Safety System as the industry certificate for safe carriers.


US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
The FAA is an agency of the United States Department of Transportation with authority to regulate and oversee all aspects of civil aviation in the U.S. The FAA’s major roles include regulating air navigation facilities’ geometry and flight inspection standards; encouraging and developing civil aeronautics; issuing, suspending, or revoking pilot certificates.


US Department of Transportation (DOT)
The United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) is a federal cabinet department of U.S. government concerned with transportation. It was established by an act of Congress on October 15, 1967. It is administered by the U.S. Secretary of Transportation. Its mission is to “Serve the U.S. by ensuring a fast, safe, efficient, accessible and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life.”


European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)
EASA is an agency of the European Union (EU) with specific regulatory and executive tasks in the field of civilian aviation safety. It was created in September 28, 2003 with offices in Cologne, Germany. The agency’s responsibilities include: giving advice to the EU for drafting new legislation; implementing and monitoring safety rules, including inspections in the Member States; type-certification of aircraft and components; authorization of third-country (non-EU) operators; safety analysis and research.

Permanent URL for this page: